The first written town document dates back to 1019 in which King Saint Steven of Hungary, in the Abbey’s establishment charter in Zalavar, mentions the town of Csurgo which needed to give its annual revenue to the abbot. The first buildings were built in the northern part of the town where the crusaders were settled. King Bela III later reinforced the abbey. The town got its name from the spring which can also be seen on the emblem.
At the beginning of the 14th century Csurgo was the centre of the Johanitter monks. In 1405 king Sigismund gave the town of Csurgo the status of market town, instead of Segesd.
During the Turkish invasions noblemen Balint Torok and Nikola Zrinski had estates in this area. Remnants of a wooden fortress and a monastery have been found next to the church of the Holy Ghost.
After the banishment of the Turks this area was totally devastated. In 1726 the town was owned by the Festetics family. Kristof Festetics wanted the town to become an economic, trade and cultural centre. His goals were accomplished by his descendant Đuro Festetics who in 1792 set the foundations for the Reformed Secondary School in Csurgo. The work was managed by Janoš Nagyvathy. The great Hungarian poet Mihaly Vitez Csokonai held a teaching position from May 1799 to March 1800. It was here that he had written his major dramas: Mrs Kamyo and Cultura. The Reformed Secondary School and its library are considered the most important town landmarks.
In 1869 the first training school had been established in Csurgo which was the first one in the SomogyCounty. In 1871 Csurgo became a municipal centre. In 1872 the railroad which connected Rijeka with Hungary was solemnly opened, putting Csurgo into the transport stream of the Monarchy. The town strode upon the path of industrialisation which lasted until World War I: three brick factories were opened, steam powered mills as well as flax and milk processing factories.
An important date in the town’s history is 1984 when, thanks to the public administration reform, the town was granted the status of „a big settlement”, and in 1989 it received the status of a town. A new health centre has been built and the main square has been completely renovated. In 2016 the Historical Memorial Park has been put into use in which there is accommodation for pilgrims, a total capacity for 23 people, and there is a conference and exhibition hall. Within the park there is an educational path with 10 stops where visitors can learn about the history of our homeland and our town.
A year later, in 2017, new town swimming pools have been opened which include an olympic pool, two pools with thermal water and various saunas on the second floor. An aqua park and a four star hotel is planned to be opened in the millennium year. Also in the anniversary year, after many years of EU support, within the Historical Memorial Park an interactive exhibition space will be opened in the honour of the Hungarian poet Mihaly Vitez Csokonai.
The city of Csurgo, along with the surrounding region, is rich with natural and architectural landmarks and a rich cultural heritage. All this, as well as notable local cultural manifestations guarantee a unique opportunity to relax and refill your energy.